Your Travis County Emergency Services District #8 Commissioners are:

Debra Opdahl – President
Jeff Hunt – Vice President
Kristy Quigley – Secretary
Rusty Jedlicka – Treasurer
Dr. Charles Valadez – Member


Debra Opdahl

Ms. Opdahl retired from state government several years ago.  She has extensive legislative, executive management, and technical expertise.  She has participated in numerous advisory groups, served on a variety of governor appointed and legislative committees, and testified before the legislature on a broad range of topics.

Ms. Opdahl is married and has one grown daughter.  Ms. Opdahl and her husband, Chris, moved to the Spicewood area in 1982.  Since then they have been an active part of the community, participating in various professional and non-profit boards and fund raising activities.  They enjoy lake life and love being part of this interesting, diverse and unique community.

Jeff Hunt

Mr. Hunt began his career with the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) in June, 1997 as a property and casualty financial analyst.  In March of 2016, he became the Director for the TDI Company Licensing and Registration Office, tasked with evaluating managerial capabilities and financial wherewithal related to start up insurance companies or insurers seeking entrance into the Texas insurance marketplace.

In conjunction with market entrance activity, he’s involved with corporate activities such as mergers, conversions, and ensuring that companies exit the Texas marketplace in a solvent and orderly manner.

Mr. Hunt is on the TDI accounting issues committee. He is the appointed TDI Board Member for the Workers’ Compensation Self-Insured Group Guaranty Fund and co-chairs the NAIC National Treatment Working Group.

Mr. Hunt holds a Bachelor’s of Business Administration in Accounting from Texas State University.   He is licensed as a Certified Public Accountant in the State of Texas, holds the Accredited Financial Examiner designation, and is a certified Project Management Professional.

Kristy Quigley

Mrs. Quigley has worked in public education for 28 years, serving as a special educator and department chair in three different districts:  Cypress Fairbanks in Houston, Eanes ISD in Westlake/Austin, and now Lake Travis ISD.  She is currently the special education department chair at Lake Travis High School, supervising about 30 teachers, paraprofessionals, and related service providers, and serving the needs of about 200 students with disabilities.  She has been honored to be awarded Teacher of the Year twice:   in 1999, she was District Teacher of the Year for Eanes ISD, and in 2006, she received Secondary Teacher of the Year for LTISD.  She holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Special Education and a Master’s Degree in Learning Disabilities/English as a Second Language, both from the University of Texas at Austin.

Mrs. Quigley is married and has 2 daughters.  The family currently resides in a small neighborhood off of Paleface Ranch Road, close to Station 803.

Rusty Jedlicka

Mr. Jedlicka is a native Texan who has lived in the Pedernales area since 1993 with his wife Margaret.   He is a retired CPA whose business experience includes operational consulting and financial management services in the manufacturing sector.   He graduated from Texas State University in 1979 and returned to the central Texas area after working in the Dallas area for 15 years.  He and his wife are active in non-profit activities in the community.

Dr. Charles Valadez

Info coming soon.