TRAVIS COUNTY EMERGENCY SERVICES DISTRICT NO. 8

Minutes

September 27, 2022

A meeting of the Board of Commissioners of Travis County Emergency Services District No. 8 was held on Tuesday, **September 27, 2022, at 5:30 p.m.,** at Station 801, located at 801 Bee Creek Road, Spicewood, Texas 78669, for the following purposes:

1. Call meeting to order; Called to order at 5:32 pm

Board Present in Person:

Debra Opdahl – President, Becky Wynn – Vice President, Kristy Quigley – Secretary

Board Absent:

Matt Coffel – Treasurer, Charles Valadez – Asst. Secretary/Treasurer.

Also present in person:

Troy Wenzel, Tony Haden, Jeff Hunt, Sheila Prince, Brian Storer, Chad Kubin, Cody Fojtik, Paige Bushnell, Colin Gray, Scott Wegner

2. Public Comment: Members of the public may speak for up to three (3) minutes regarding general topics or specific agenda items. In accordance with the Texas Attorney General's opinion, any public comment that is made on an item that is not on the published final agenda will only be heard by the Board of Commissioners. No formal action, discussion, deliberation, nor comment will be made by the Board of Commissioners;

None.

3. Public Comment on Agenda items: Individual members of the public may address the Board for a maximum of three minutes per person per agenda item. Individuals may address the Board once per item. Members of the public will speak on agenda items before Board consideration of item. Members of the public who wish to speak on agenda items or make a public comment must complete speaker cards prior to the beginning of the Board meeting.

None.

Discussion/Action Items

4. Discuss and consider taking action to approve Travis County ESD 8 entering into the Texas County and District Retirement System (TCDRS).

Troy Wenzel reviewed the TCDRS and options.

Debra Opdahl opened the floor for discussion.

Debra Opdahl moved to approve Travis County ESD 8 entering into the Texas County and District Retirement System with the below listed options and to approve the Board President signing the TCDRS agreement.

- Participation Date of November 1, 2022
- Employee Deposit Rate of 7%
- Employer match of 2.5 to 1
- Vesting at 10 years
- Rule of 75

- Retirement at 20 years of service
- Purchase of the Group Term Life insurance

Kristy Quigley seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

5. Discuss and take necessary action on budget adjustment for FY 2021/2022.

Jeff Hunt reviewed FY 2021/2022 budget adjustments:

- Total Revenue
 - Tax Revenues
 - Sales Tax
 - o Additional Income
- Total Expenses
 - Human Resources
 - Notes & Mortgages
 - o Administrative
 - Communication
 - o Public Relations
 - o Facilities
 - Support Equipment
 - Training
 - Fleet

•

Unallocated Surplus

The Board of Commissioners discussed adjustments.

Debra Opdahl moved to approve all budget adjustments for FY 2021/2022 as detailed in Board packets with explanation of unallocated surplus. The motion was seconded by Kristy Quigley. The motion passed unanimously.

Commissioners Valadez and Coffel were absent for this vote.

6. Consider taking action regarding budget for fiscal year October 1, 2022 to September 30, 2023.

Chief Wenzel reviewed Budget for FY 2022/2023 which included:

- Tax Revenues
 - o Property Tax
 - Sales Tax
- Income
- Human Resources
 - Benefits
 - 457 Plan
 - TCDRS plan
- Notes and Mortgages
- Administrative
- Communications
- Public Relations
- Facilities
- Fleet
- Budget Summary
 - Future financial plans for notes and mortgages

Board of Commissioners discussed budget proposal.

Debra Opdahl read resolution adopting Budget for FY 10/1/2022 through 9/30/2023 and asked for a motion to adopt proposed budget for FY 2022/2023 and to approve resolution to adopt the FY

2022/2023 budget. A motion was made by Kristy Quigley and seconded by Becky Wynn. The motion passed unanimously.

Commissioners Valadez and Coffel were absent for this vote.

The resolution was then signed and notarized.

7. Conduct a Public Hearing on the proposal to increase property taxes:

Debra Opdahl opened public hearing at 6:20 pm.

• No Comments were heard.

Debra Opdahl closed public hearing at 6:21 pm.

8. Take a record vote on the District's 2022 tax rate, adopt an Order Levying Taxes, authorize filing the Order with the Travis County Tax Assessor/Collector; and

Debra Opdahl read the motion to adopt tax rate:

"I move that the property tax rate be increased by the adoption of a tax rate of \$0.079/\$100 valuation, which is effectively an 8.43 percent increase in the tax rate."

Becky Wynn seconded the motion. A record vote was then taken.

Becky Wynn – Yes Debra Opdahl – Yes Kristy Quigley – Yes

Motion passed unanimously.

Commissioners Valadez and Coffel were absent for this vote.

Debra Opdahl moved to adopt the Order Levying Taxes as written for FY 2022/2023 and authorize filing the order with the Travis County Tax Assessor/Collector. Kristy Quigley seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Commissioners Valadez and Coffel were absent for this vote.

The Order Levying Taxes was then signed and notarized.

9. Authorize posting statement regarding adopted tax rate to home page of District website.

Debra Opdahl asked for a motion to authorize website posting that complies with legal requirements. A motion made by Becky Wynn and seconded by Kristy Quigley. The motion passed unanimously.

Commissioners Valadez and Coffel were absent for this vote.

Debra Opdahl announced a session break at 6:31 pm Debra Opdahl called the session back to order at 6:32 pm

Board discussed next meeting date:

Next Board Meeting will be held at 5:30 pm on Wednesday October 19, 2022, at 801 Bee Creek Road Briarcliff, Texas 78669.

10. Adjourn. Meeting adjourned at 6:34 pm.

Charles Valadez

Charles Valadez, Asst. Secretary Travis County ESD #8